Week 3 of AIP and facial progress

Autoimmune_Pic_3_grande

Courtesy of the interwebs.

It’s been three weeks since I’ve attempted the AIP (autoimmune protocol) for the paleo diet. When I started paleo, I was eating a lot of nuts, fruits in smoothies, etc. Well, I went AIP because something in me told me that maybe I should, despite the fact that I’d never been diagnosed with an autoimmune disease…

Maybe I should just give that a shot.

Has that ever happened to you?

No, I didn’t think I had an autoimmune disease. But I just couldn’t shake that feeling that I needed to do AIP (which for those of you who don’t know, all you do is take out a few more foods that have been known to cause irritation to others – eggs, nightshades, nuts & seeds). So it’s been a few weeks on AIP and can I tell you something interesting? The small bit of acne on my chest is 99% gone. All that remain are a few skin-colored bumps. No redness, no inflammation. Pretty cool right? And the acne on my back is ten-fold better.

On my face, though. We have a different story. Before going paleo, I had to use makeup to cover up my redness. In my first post, you hear me talk about my rosacea. I had redness and breakouts. Today, my redness is more blotchy! I can actually see white spots on my cheeks again. I am still getting breakouts (less on my cheeks, and more on my chin), but I think we are on the mend folks. On the mend for sure. I’m using makeup, but not as much. Most days I go without. I read Dr. Perricone’s Acne Prescription and he suggested using glycolic acid (an anti-inflammatory and PH balancing cleanser). I’ve been using it for a few days, just in the evenings.

While it’s been fun learning what to do about my face, I think I’m learning more and more about what not to do. So many people on the internet complain about how the acne products they use do not work. Well, acne is an inflammatory issue on the inside which manifests itself on the outside.

So ask yourself these questions to help figure out the main cause of your acne (because acne is an inflammatory disease often caused by the foods we eat, but there are other factors, as well):

> Did you start using a particular type of cleanser/medication and then started to break out? If so, your skin probably needs a break. This girl cured her 15 years of acne at age 27 by not washing her face.

> Did you drastically change your diet? You might’ve disrupted your hormones. It’s okay, don’t beat yourself up, I did it, too. Try going paleo. Within 2 – 3 months, you’ll look better, lose weight, feel better, and your skin will start to get better.

> Stressed? Stop drinking coffee. I know, I know, Catie are you crazy? Yep. Because I started drinking about 2 cups a day. I drank that for about a year and a half. My stress levels were unlike any I’d ever dealt with but I thought that was just college. Then I cut it out (no, withdrawals are so minor you won’t even notice. No excuses). Now I drink green tea everyday. I honestly am hardly stressed anymore. I feel great. And my stomach is no longer irritated! – A side effect I was very used to. Also, magnesium. Robb Wolf puts his in hot water before bed.

When I first started to break out badly at 17, I underwent these three things all at once. My face looked like I became the papa gino’s poster child. Today, I’m getting better. My acne on my chest and back are almost perfect. My face is getting better. At 3 weeks on AIP and paleo, it’s MUCH better than it has been in years (and I’m 21).

Tonight, I plan to implement the tactic of putting away all my cleansers. I will simply rinse my face with warmish water and hope that a miracle happens in the morning. This, plus paleo for the rest of my life, should really line things up for me. And as always, I wish you the best of luck as well!

Leave a Reply

