Cater to your happy

It’s okay. I know, sometimes you do things you don’t like to do. I know. I do it, too. That’s life, and you have to, and it’s soul-clensing.

You still have to cater to your happiness, though. So I’m taking a break today from talking about celiac disease and paleo and acne to tell you that simple changes in your life can make all the difference. I know you know this, but it’s nice to be reminded right?

Today I went to Target with my mom. We also went to Christmas Tree Shop. We bought only a couple things, just some organization stuff and some home decor. And the simple fixes we made to just make our space look better helped me feel better. Personally, I need to take care of my external space in order to cater to my interior life. Sounds weird, but I think you get it. Ambiance matters.

So what is it that you like to do? Do you like to write screenplays, light candles and play music, watch movies, decorate your house, exercise, go for walks, stargaze, drive around aimlessly…? It’s okay! Do it once in a while, and if you’re going stir-crazy like me, do it a little more often!

Today, catering to my interior meant quick, simple fixes to make my parents’ house look better. For the couch, all we did was change the pillows with different patterns and colors. Instead of buying new, pretty blankets to hang on the back of the couch, we bought a storage box and put them underneath.

My couch, updated with new pillows and with blankets underneath instead of hanging on the back.

My couch, updated with new pillows and with blankets underneath instead of hanging on the back.

Then, we tackled the kitchen. My friend suggested we paint the kitchen red. Well, my dad is pretty against painting and change. So we had to work with small changes.

My kitchen before changes.

My kitchen before changes.

I didn’t think we had a lot to work with, but we went to Target, found some red accents, and it made a big difference.

My kitchen after simple changes.

My kitchen after simple changes.

It’s nothing you’d see on HGTV, but it’s a nice start with simple changes. Try it. You don’t have to spend a ton of money to make these changes, and today I feel a lot better because I’m caring and catering to something other than just myself. I’m not worrying about my body today. I’m just helping my home and having fun with my mom.

What small thing could you do today to help your happy?

One thought on “Cater to your happy

Leave a Reply

