30-day skin update

If you’ve been keeping up with me, you know that my journey with acne and with paleo are intimately linked. I really wanted to take my acne into my own hands (ew not literally) and stop playing my hands at traditional western medicine. You see, I got acne at 17. I used a face scrub, got acne, panicked, and used more face scrub. I don’t know why I didn’t think to stop it sooner, but you know, hindsight.

I’ve been doing the caveman regimen for my face for the last 30 days. Wow, I can’t believe I actually lasted that long!

I would be lying if I said I did it perfectly. I didn’t pick at my cheeks anymore because they were no longer acnified (made up word) thanks to a combination of paleo & eating less frequently, but my temples were itchy, my eyebrows were getting bloated from cystic acne, and I just didn’t feel pretty, which made me stress, which made me pick and scratch. What a cycle, huh?

But anyways, my cheeks developed this nice, reptilious (made up word?) dead-skin-mask. For the rest of my face, I would put on LUSH’s tinted oil makeup just to hide some of the redness. If I feel pretty, I don’t stress and pick so much. It sounds stupid, but when I feel that vulnerable, what else am I going to do?

Anyways, YESTERDAY, I gently exfoliated the dead skin mask off of my cheeks using cold water and a wash cloth. It took several minutes. There was a ton of stuff that needed to come off. It was oddly satisfying, as well, to finally watch the scales come off my face and reveal smooth, fresh skin underneath.

I’m going to be honest again – it wasn’t what I expected. I expected fresh, baby-looking skin. I’m a dreamer, what can I say? What I found, instead, looked like this:

This is not my face, but this is what my face looks like. Mine may even be a little worse.

So after I cried for an hour (not really), I looked around for some scar cream. I can’t just leave my face like this, can I? I don’t think so. Anyway, I found my old Bio Oil that I’m going to use. Some people reported breaking out with the use of this product, but I’m hoping that with such a controlled diet, not irritating my face with face wash, and only wearing LUSH’s makeup, I won’t.

I’m also headed to a new dermatologist later this month because my parents think that will solve everything. Maybe the dermo can take away some of the scarring. But hey, all in all, I’m extremely blessed not to have a ton of new acne anymore!

Has anyone else tried not washing their faces and seeing what’s happened? Does anyone have experiences with Bio Oil and acne scars?

Leave a Reply

