Embarking on a new journey – 21DSD

Hi there! It’s been about a week since my last post about good reads for a healthy body. Thank you for such a wonderful response! I’m glad to help whenever I can.

In continuing my theme of wanting a healthy journey this summer, I had to be honest with myself about a few different things. Does this ever happen to you? You think things are going really well, and it’s not until you’re deep into something that you realize it wasn’t working out.

1.) I had to realize that not washing my hair — doing the water-only hair care method — simply wasn’t workingA lot of people on the internet go crazy over the no-poo stuff. They try baking soda, vinegar, water-only, and conditioner-only methods. I’ve tried the first two without success. If you can learn anything from my trials and tribulations within the no-poo regimens, just realize that you should be washing your hair less. Don’t wash it everyday or even every other. Give your hair a break. I can’t tell you not to use shampoo – that’s not my place. But try new things. Give your hair nourishing ingredients. I’m going to try washing my hair with conditioner for a little while and see what happens. Here we go, co-only washing!

2.) Whether I get a diagnosis or not, I have problems with my blood sugar levels. On all diets. When I was on Atkins years ago, it took me about a month before I finally felt not cranky all the time. Being on Paleo, it didn’t take me long before I was eating sweet potatoes and pumpkin everyday because I had been reading blogs saying that I should keeps my carbs on the upper end if I’m exercising (sweet potatoes and pumpkin are really carb-dence; they spike your insulin). Not good for someone who has problems with regulating their blood sugar, right? I ate them because I didn’t realize I had such a bad problem with blood sugar. And yet I was craving even more sugar…

I know, you might be thinking – wait, you’re experiencing blood sugar problems on Paleo and Atkins….. Why don’t you just eat like a normal person?

I know, it seems like a *duh* kind of moment when you put it that way. But I had an even worse time when I was eating like a normal person (I say normal person, but you know what I mean). I had bagels for breakfasts, sandwiches for lunch, pasta for dinner. I hardly ate veggies. I had to eat every 2-3 hours or else I got very very HANGRY. Insulin resistance just isn’t fun. Luckily, if you go on a low-carb diet (yes, I said low-carb. Not low-fat. If you go on a low-fat diet without changing your carb intake, you’re going to crave more carbs. You’ll likely also gain weight), you have a chance of reversing insulin resistance, preventing diabetes, and living a long, happy life without worrying about how many snacks you need to bring everywhere with you.

That’s why, starting today, I’m going on the 21 Day Sugar Detox buy Diane Sanfilippo of balanced bites. I bought the e-book version, read it in a couple days, and fell in love with yes-no foods list. I can eat so many different things! For example, I thought I should stay away from carrots because they have a higher glycemic index than say, lettuce. But I can eat carrots! I could cut out sugar on my own, but you know what? When I’m left to my own devices, I tend to get confused or assume things. That’s why I had to admit… (Check my review of 21DSD.)

3.) I can’t do it on my own. I need some help. I need to trust someone who knows what they’re talking about. And it’s okay to admit that! I love knowing that I don’t know everything. I trust Diane to guide me through this detox and help me get my blood sugar regulated. I had no idea that I should avoid sweet potatoes.

Like I said before, I was eating sweet potatoes every day for a while. At that same time, I was craving chocolate like crazy. I thought it was just PMS, but I think part of it was self-induced. Hindsight, you know? I had no idea that eating a carb-dense sweet potato could cause me to crave even more sugar. That’s why I need Diane’s program. And I’m hoping that by the end of the 21 days, I will continue with the program by not eating a lot of carb-dense foods or added sugars. Once in a great while, sure. I’m not going to go crazy. But all the time? No way.

This book even has unsweet treat recipes. FOR ME. I have been searching the web for them everywhere and FINALLY there are some unsweet treat recipes. Cinnamon cookies! Chocolate mousse! See? It’s not deprivation. It’s eating smart.

I’m doing this because I want to regulate my blood sugar, quit craving sugar, and help out my pancreas and liver. Would you ever try it? Has anyone had success with this?

4.) I can’t say no to something just because I’m prideful. When I went to the dermatologist yesterday morning, I was not hopeful at all. I wanted to talk about scar treatment. She wanted to make sure all my acne was gone before she would treat my scars. So what did she suggest? Accutane, of course. It’s the concentrated form of vitamin A. I left the office, disappointed, confused, and worried. People have great success on Accutane. But me? Would I? I’m a health risk already.

But I came home and watched lots of youtube videos about accutane. Most people really advocated for it. My dermatologist said she’s prescribed it for 600 people. She’s only had to take three people off it.

Where does that leave me? I’m on the fence. I’m considering it because my family won’t leave me alone about getting rid of my acne. Everyday, it seems, someone has something else to say about it. I just wish people would leave me alone about it. On the other hand, my acne is getting a lot better. And I’d love to heal it naturally. So, am I nervous because it would hurt my pride to let someone else take control? I don’t know.

Has anyone else tried Accutane? Would you recommend giving it a try? I’d love to hear your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

